World News | Rajasthan Bypolls: Counting of Votes for Vallabhnagar and Dhariawad Seats Begin

Jaipur, Nov 2 (PTI) The counting of votes polled in Assembly Bypolls for Rajasthan’s Vallabhnagar (Udaipur) and Dhariawad (Pratapgarh) seats began amid tight security arrangements on Monday.

Voting for the two seats were held on October 30.

Also Read | 1.5 Million Children in Central Africa Need Emergency Aid: UN.

The counting started at 8.00 am at the District Headquarters as per the COVID-19 related guidelines of the Election Commission of India, according to a spokesperson.

As many as 16 candidates – nine in Vallabhnagar and seven in Dhariawad – are in the fray.

Also Read | 1.5 Million Penguins ‘Supercolony’ Earlier Detected From Space, Discovered on Antarctica’s Danger Islands.

The counting for Dhariawad constituency is taking place at the Government Senior Secondary School, Neemuch Naaka, Pratapgarh while the counting for Vallabhnagar is going on at Mohanlal Sukhadia University Campus in Udaipur; the counting of votes will be completed in 24 and 23 rounds respectively.

Polling was recorded at 71.72 per cent in Vallabhnagar and 69.10 per cent in Dhariawad.

The bypolls were held due to the demise of BJP MLA from Dhariawad, Gautam Lal Meena, and Congress MLA from Vallabhnagar, Gajendra Singh Shaktawat.

In the house of 200, the ruling Congress has 106 MLAs, while the BJP has 71, Rashtriya Loktantrik Party has three, the CPI(M) and the Bharatiya Tribal Party have two each, the Rashtriya Lok Dal has one and 13 are independent legislators.

(This is an unedited and auto-generated story from Syndicated News feed, LatestLY Staff may not have modified or edited the content body)

Source link

About rudro

Check Also

Project Veritas legal memos show strategy of avoiding federal law

Internal Project Veritas documents reveal the lengths the conservative outlet went to try to avoid …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *